//
you're reading...
Features, Kats Making Noise

Interview with Sacramento’s TASK1ne

It’s always a pleasure to meet people who have drive and passion. It’s even more pleasurable when you get to dig into their brain and find out how or why they do what they do. I met Corey a few years back through a mutual friend and have been following his progress in our city with a smile and always a head nod to his freestyle game, witty lyrics, love for anime/superheroes and his excitement for music.

more

Seeing this man perform live is an incredible experience. I am not talking about an open mic that’s easy, he brings that to a close. I am talking about his stage presence, strong self belief, zeal for his written word and respect for his fellow artists. When TASK1be comes to the stage he brings a crowd out of a boring haze to life.

Three albums; TASK1ne Verses The World, The Invincible TASK1ne and District 916 with many, many features on tracks from the underground to main show stoppers here in Sac to the solid branding and a spirit that will not give up, Sacramento raise your glasses to TASK1ne.

J: When did you first find yourself saying, “Music. This is something I want to do”?

T: Good question. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to do music. I just never thought that I actually had what it takes to do it. I come from a VERY religious family, so I wasn’t able to really practice rapping that much as a kid. So I had to literally SNEAK my hip-hop into the house. I was the Biggest Mystikal fan LOL. In high school, people would ask me to rap his verse on “Make Em Say UUUUUUUUHHHHHH” all the time *FACEPALM*. I can HONESTLY say that I OFFICIALLY knew that I wanted to do this after I graduated from college, and got a day job. I realized that that shit just wasn’t for me. I was meant to be on a stage…

J: When did your attraction to hip hop reveal itself?

T: When I was in third grade, my parents split up. My momma had to take care of 4 kids by herself, and couldn’t afford to really buy us a lot of presents for Christmas. So my mom bought us all 2 little things. My sister got a “Jem” Doll and a jump rope. My brothers got a basketball, a Frisbee, a water gun and an action figure. I got X-Men #1 and Midnite Marauders by A Tribe Called Quest. Pardon the pun, but it was a (W)RAP for me after that (see what I did there?). That album changed my LIFE. I guess you can say that was my origin LOL…

J: Who was or what was (band/group/single artist) inspired you to emcee/rap? How old were you?

T: Part of this answer was answered on the last question. After hearing Tribe, I needed to hear MORE. So I went to the record store and asked the owner for more similar music. He recommended Wu-Tang. I was INSTANTLY hooked. Then I found out about Hieroglyphics. Then Busta Rhymes, Bone Thugs, NAS, Fugees, Outkast, Xzibit, Big L and Big Pun. Later I graduated to MF DOOM, CUF and Living Legends. I was ALWAYS more of a underground dude, never into radio type tracks…

J: What music did you listen to as a child in your household, then to young adult, up to now?

T: Believe it or not, I was a huge fan of grunge rock growing up. I used to skateboard tough, so I hung around a lot of rocker kids. I would combine listening to hip-hop AND rock. I went from listening to Del, and Raekwon, and Method Man to bumping Soundgarden, Stone Temple Pilots, Rage Against The Machine and Nirvana. I used to get ridiculed for being a “black rocker”, but I was just doing me. I like ALL types of music. My favorite song growing up was “3 Little Pigs” by a group called “green Jelly”. LOOK IT UP.

J: Comics and video games seems to be a creative obsession with you, does this play a role in your emcee raps or an inspiration of some sort? Why?

T: Yes it does. I’ve ALWAYS been almost OBSESSED with the concept of “The Hero”. The one that HAS to do the right thing, regardless. Saving the day, fighting the villain and all in a days work. And these folks don’t get PAID to do it. They do it because they love it, and because it’s the right thing to do. That’s how I see my music. I’m like a vigilante; an accountant in the morning, and emcee at night. I do this cuz I love it, and while getting PAID would be NICE, I’m more into spreading my sound. Video games is just something that has ALWAYS been apart of me. I was a kid during possibly, one of the BEST eras for games ever, so I never grew out of it LOL. I rap about my life, and I don’t hold back, so I include the video games in my rhymes just to show people a different part of me. 🙂 Besides, it’d be WEIRD if I rapped about other stuff, right?

J: Future for Task1ne?

T: Eating pizza, watching anime, traveling more, meeting more people, touring in Japan, expanding the name, and attempting to use my rap career as a way to holler at chicks. 🙂

J: Do you find music to be a hobby or career platform for you?

T: Another good question. While I would LOVE to say it’s just a “hobby”, I’d be lying. At this point in my craft, I’ve surpassed the “hobby” moniker. I have CDs in stores, iTunes, etc., and I’ve been in different states to perform. One of my favorite lines was from the Buckshot x 9th Wonder track called “U Wondering” where Buck says…”If you’re not selling records in a store, it’s a hobby…”. And I agree with that statement…

J: If you had to pick one comic character that you could transform yourself to becoming who would it be and why?

T: MAN, I would have to be my dude green Lantern. He can create anything, fly around, travel to different worlds, and still be back by dinner. I would just create CRAZY weapons. Plus, he fights evil midgets and last I checked, midgets are AWSOME.

J: Artists you would like to work with and why?

T: I’m proud to be one of the FEW artists who have worked with almost EVERYBODY in the scene. But there are a FEW I HAVEN’T worked with that I would like to. One is Xuice Hades (aka Illecism). Dude is a BEAST on the mic, AND I respect his hustle. I would also like to work with Doey Rock. He is a local legend and he’s a veteran. Also Del tha Funky Homosapien. Dude is, like, my hero LOL… PLUS, I would like to do a track with Bjork because…because…because WHY THE HELL NOT?!? It’s BJORK for CHRIST’S SAKE LOL…

J: Favorite producers in Sacramento? Why?

T: One of the best things I love about Sac Hip=Hop are our producers. No producer in Sac sounds like the other. They all have their own sounds, and that’s what makes them special. Whether it’s the Jazzy boom-bap of Styles 1001,to the futuristic sounds of Rufio, to the rawness of Hippie Sabotage, to the head nodding beats by Dibia$e, to the smooth melodies of Jon Reyes, or the epicness which is Nicatyne. I dig them ALL.

J: After the success of your last album, are their any expectations you give yourself for your next project?

T:WOW, you think it was successful? Why thank you. I’ve been SO busy since the release that I honestly can’t tell LOL. I’ve noticed my fan base has grown, so that’s something. What I wanted to accomplish with the album was to show folks what Sacramento could do. All tracks were produced, written and recorded by Sacramento artists (except for members of my old crew). When people hear my album and they say, “Wow, these folks are ALL from Sac?”, then I know I’ve accomplished my mission. So for the next project, I would really like to work with folks OUTSIDE of Sac. I want to show people that we’re here, and that some of THE BEST hip-hop acts are coming out of Sacramento of all places. There are already a few cats out here that are expanding; I’m just waiting patiently for my turn.

J: Tell me about the experience on stage last year at the Sammy Awards performance in the grid?

T: MAN, that was unlike anything I had ever experienced. The last year, I took my shirt off to show the city my moobs (man boobs), so folks were wondering what I’d do next. So, I wanted to literally BOMBARD the stage. I had Mad Flows with me (who did an incredible stage dive), then I had my dude J Ras come up with me. I had some friends roll with me who were also b-boys, so I had them come on stage with me. And last but not least, there was Downtown James Brown. He wished me luck before I hopped on the stage, and a lightbulb went off in my head. I said to him, “You’re comin g on stage with me.”. You should have seen the look on his face, dude was practically in tears. To this day he thanks me for that. I was glad folks enjoyed it, hopefully I can do it a gain next time. WHO KNOWS what I will do next.. MWA-HA-HA-HA!!! *continues maniacal laugh*

J: In one word what does music mean to you?

T: Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

Character? Why yes, yes he is. Love for life? That’s easy, when your around this man you can’t help but feel alive. Honestly it’s refreshing. 2012 will be an exciting year for TASK as he ventures onto more records, new shows to rock and of course another round of freestyle sessions you simply can not miss.

Follow TASK1ne on twitter, bandcamp.com, myspace.com and facebook.com

Discussion

No comments yet.

Whatcha' say....

