//
you're reading...
Features, Music, Sacramento

STALLEY

The city of Massillon, Ohio has birthed one of thee most incredible additions to Hip Hop, Kyle Myricks, aka Stallion, aka STALLEY. The last two years has become an incredible ride for this man signing with Rick Ross’s Maybach Music Group and receiving a warm welcome from his first album, The Autobiography, telling of his transition from Ohio to New York, to his mixtape, Lincoln Way Nights (intelligent trunk music), proving to us that there is still real talent in the life of a mainstream artist. July 8th, STALLEY blessed us with his presence at Sol Collective with an intimate performance further letting me know that he will be here to stay in our world, our culture of Hip Hop.

STALLEY was not just a guy who threw rhymes together over night, no, Kyle was a poet first. Taking his journals everywhere he went, writing down anything that popped into his mind, turning them into beautiful lines from a very well spoken, intelligent bard. Eventually STALLEY took those poems, laid them down over beats, turning them into songs that our culture has been missing.

Q:  I hear that you write/wrote poetry, is there any truth behind that?

A:  Actually yes, when I was young I would always get into trouble at school which ended with me being in detention a lot. I used to sit in detention after school and just write. Poetry, rhymes, or whatever kept that time pleasurable. As I got older I played around a bit adding music into my writing.

Yes adding beats, rhythms into his writing has done him quite well. The man gives us a message that we are so desperately missing. His story telling abilities, delivery, his laid back flow intertwined with the mellow tracks are unbelievably dope. Not only has he become an artist that might bring back consciousness in our music, he has also taken on a writing gig with SLAM Magazine. Being that he is a huge sports fan, which if you didn’t know, he played college basketball with the likes of LeBron James; he took the offer from SLAM and currently writes a column dubbed Milq and Rookies.

Q:  Who or what inspires you?

A:  Life in general inspires me. What I see, hear and experience day-to-day give me new insight, gives me new ideas and things to write about.

Q:  In your free time, what do you enjoy doing the most?

A:  Spending time with my family and our new addition, my daughter. I love to read as well.

While conducting this interview I got the greatest vibe from such a humble, intelligent and down to earth human being. The spotlight has not swayed him one bit. In our conversation over city life opposed to that of his home state, he expressed how life in the city, living on top of one another, is not what he wants the rest of his life. He would love to have acres of land, a sort of personal paradise. As our interview came done to it’s last minutes, my soul was replenished with the joy of why I am in love with Hip Hop.

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “STALLEY

  1. Good – I should definitely say I’m impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related info. It ended up being truly simple to access. Great job..

    Posted by fat burning exercise | August 16, 2011, 8:03p08
  2. It’s really a great and helpful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Posted by the magic of making up forum | August 18, 2011, 8:03p08

Whatcha' say....

